Wolfcraft mastercut 1000 folding power tool table

As mentioned previously, I have a Wolfcraft Mastercut 1000 folding power tool table which can hold a variety of tools including circular saw, router, jigsaw and drill and has a small vice attached.

I bought it about 5 years ago when we were in a house with a smaller garden (so no scope for a larger shed/workshop) and no garage.

I have pretty much all the accessories available:

It’s an ok bit of kit if you are limited for space, however it’s never going to match dedicated machinery and it has a few limitations:

  1. the fence is only attached at one end and is mounted via the mitre guide which has a bit of play in it (although this can be remedied by clamping the other end)
  2. the surface of the table is a little too small (I remedy this with folding roller stands to support infeed and outfeed)
  3. the holes & slots for the bolts which hold tools under the table are formed by bending the steel surface of the table down. This allows the bolt heads to fit flush into the upper surface, but means the lower surface is not flat and could damage the faceplate of any tool mounted
  4. it’s quite fiddly to swap the bolts and wingnuts between the various holes/slots necessary for each tool
  5. the folding stays get caught in the legs when folding it back up
  6. the insert round the circular saw blade is too flexible and is deflected upwards by the sprung blade guard of my circular saw

(Updated 08/04/2012 to add the following 4 photos)

Wolfcraft Mastercut 1000 fence

Wolfcraft Mastercut 1000 fence

Wingnuts and mountings for power tools under Wolfcraft Mastercut 1000

Slots and wingnuts etc for mounting power tools

Bosch PKS46 saw mounted to Wolfcraft Mastercut 1000

Bosch PKS46 saw mounted to underside of table

Wolfcraft mastercut 1000 leg stay catching on leg

Leg stay fouling leg

Point 2 in particular means I’ve never mounted my router to it, as even if I sorted out the burrs I think the sub base/face plate will still get chewed to bits.

Mounting a jigsaw upside down under a table sounds like a recipe for disaster (or at least bent blades), so I’ve never tried that – I certainly don’t think it’d match a bandsaw or a fretsaw!

In fact the only tools I’ve ever mounted to it are my Bosch PKS46 circular saw and my Axminster AW1050HD drill with a flexible drive shaft attached.

The biggest project I’ve tackled with it was ripping a step into some feather edged board to replace some rotten sections in a shed at our old house – a job that didn’t require too much in the way of precision! :)

I could probably mitigate my concerns about mounting a router by creating some sacrificial sub bases out of thin ply, but then I’d have to move the mounting bolts every time I wanted to change tools.

At some point I’ll probably buy something like the Axminster TS200 or the Axminster BTS10ST and retire the Wolfcraft, but for now I’ll leave it set up for my saw and build a separate router table – probably bench mounted to start with.

Update 18/08/2012: I seem to be getting a few hits on this post from people searching for reviews of the BTS10ST.

The TS-200 is pretty well known but because it’s so new the only review I’ve seen of the BTS10ST was a half page first look in the June/July 2012 issue of British Woodworking (issue #30). HTH

This entry was posted in Reviews, Tools, Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wolfcraft mastercut 1000 folding power tool table

  1. Pingback: Measure once cut twice | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  2. lorenzo says:

    hi, i just bought the mastercut 1200, its got aditional space and things but the machine stationairie part is the same, watching the comment i atached a bosch jigsaw, shure i wouldnt want any children around and you should be carefull, but it worked perfectly, i see no reason why there would be more chance of bending blades when its upside down.
    i am currently in the proces of buying a circulair handsaw, i almost bought the BOSCH PKS 66 1600W, reason i didnt, when you read the instructions it wil say that it is not made to be” used on a stationairy table” like the one you got mounted on the pic, i checked several brands they all say the same except the DEWALT DW 62K but i am still doubting because there is a special offer here on the bosch only 125€ as for the dewalt it wil cost me 241€ you see my dilema here:/

    • John says:

      Thanks for the information Lorenzo,

      My main concern was the unguarded (and impossible to guard) blade.

      I also thought that you’d lose the feedback of holding the jigsaw in your hand and perhaps end up forcing the wood into it too fast or from an angle, leading to bent blades. (I just failed to articulate it properly! :) )

      I don’t know whether those warnings are standard “ass covering” clauses or genuine warnings that the saw is unsuitable.

      Certainly you need to be very careful as the retractable guards will be held open by the table (or they certainly are with mine).

      Good luck with your choice :)

      John

  3. Pingback: Blog stats – 2012 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  4. bacsa says:

    hi. Nice overview.
    I just got a wolfcraft. Why do you think mounting a jigsaw upside down would mean bent blades? you mean the cutting blades i assume?
    I mounted a bosch jigsaw on it, and while it seems to work well, my annoyance is that the power cable mount on the jigsaw sticks too far out and thus, the table cannot be folded if the saw is mounted… :/ very annoying.

    Anyway, i’m enjoying your posts about different woodworking subjects.

    • John says:

      Yes I think cutting would be generally ok, my concern is that with a table mounted rather than hand held jigsaw it would be easier to use inappropriate levels of force – particularly sideways – due to the decrease in feedback vs handholding the tool and also the increase in distance from the blade mount to the material due to the thickness of the table and thus bend or break the jigsaw blade.

      I can’t really put my finger on why, but of the circular saw, router and jigsaw options the jigsaw just strikes me as the least safe/most likely to go wrong (even though the jigsaw is easily the “least scary” of the three power tools!)

      I have a similar trapped cable issue with my circular saw where it’s difficult to open or close the panel in the metal table surface to adjust the saw’s position without fouling the power lead on quite rough metal edges or trapping it as I close the panel, so I know what you mean.

      Thanks for the feedback – it’s very much appreciated

  5. Pingback: Zero clearance | Aggravated Wood Butchery

Leave a Reply

