Versatile Blogger Award Nomination

 

After 6 months of somewhat sporadic blogging and very little actual woodwork I’ve been nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award (VBA) by Olly Parry-Jones. Thanks Olly! :)

According to the VBA rules I must now nominate 15 bloggers and tell the person that nominated me 7 things about myself, so here goes:

(I don’t follow a massive number of woodwork related blogs, so to make numbers up I’ll also nominate some blogs related to some of my other interests)

  1. johnsboatworks.co.uk/blog – a recent find, John has reopened an old boat yard on the Thames at Lot’s Ait
  2. secondwindworkshop.blogspot.co.uk – another recent find, well written with a good mix of text and photos and interesting content
  3. www.theenglishwoodworker.com – I found this after stumbling across the Wadkin Timewarp thread on UKWorkshop
  4. www.holteyplanes.com/blog – lovely looking kit and nice photography make this a favourite of mine
  5. www.theunpluggedwoodshop.com – whilst I admire Tom’s dedication to only using hand tools, I don’t think I’ll be joining him any time soon!
  6. www.orcamesh.com/Orcamesh/Mutterings_Corner_%28Blog%29/Mutterings_Corner_%28Blog%29.html – occasional glimpses of jigs and projects
  7. joesaward.wordpress.com – my favourite F1 related blogger by a country mile
  8. www.jamesallenonf1.com – another F1 blog
  9. strobist.blogspot.com – the things David can do with digital camera and a couple of speedlights never ceases to amaze me
  10. thevulcanbomber.blogspot.co.uk – hopefully self explanatory!
  11. blag.xkcd.com – blog by the author of www.xkcd.com – “a web comic of romance, sarcasm, math and language”
  12. krebsonsecurity.com – excellent security blog
  13. ddos.arbornetworks.com – the Arbor Networks security blog
  14. isc.sans.edu – the SANS Internet Storm Center diary
  15. www.the-wombat-speaks.co.uk – a less well known tech blog

And now 7 things about me:

  1. My grandfather was evacuated from London to Devon during WW1. After being orphaned he stayed in Devon and trained as a carpenter & joiner
  2. I grew up at the edge of the Somerset Levels, in a tiny Hamlet consisting of about 26 houses and a post box. My primary school only had about 50 children attending when I was there (it’s apparently up nearer 150 nowadays!)
  3. I was the only person in my year to get an A in GCSE CDT Realisation at secondary school (I think the next closest person got a C)
  4. I went to University in London and stayed there for about 10 years in total, before getting fed up and moving to Sussex for some fresh air
  5. I gave up smoking when I moved out of London and haven’t had a cigarette since (about 8 years now)
  6. I’m married with 2 young daughters
  7. I’d consider myself a dog person but we currently have 2 rescue cats (at one point we had 4!)
This entry was posted in Off-topic and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

