Small change of plan

Yesterday I recieved the book Jigs & Fixtures for the Table Saw & Router: Get the Most from Your Tools with Shop Projects from Woodworking’s Top Experts which I ordered a few days ago from Amazon.

It started out as bedtime reading but I got so engrossed that I took it on the commute this morning!

I’d seen mentions of using a router table as a planer (jointer) before, but the detailed plans in there have made me rethink the order of my shopping list, which had a small planer thicknesser and table saw prioritised as my next purchases.

The plan is now to see how it goes with a home made router table and hand held (or mounted in the Wolfcraft folding power tool table) circular saw for a bit longer.

This will hopefully allow me to bring forward the purchases of a bandsaw and a lathe (I’ve not had access to either since school).

That’s the plan for now, anyway 🙂

In other news I’d been kicking myself that I’d missed the various reduced price Li-ion Axion combi drill bundles in the Axminster sale, but today they’ve dropped the price of the package I really wanted again, so I’ve ordered it and will now have to rethink my budget for this month!

This entry was posted in Power tools, Purchases and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Small change of plan

  1. Pingback: First machinery | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  2. Fifi says:

    Hi John,

    I am absolutely delighted to read all about your wood.
    I wonder about your package: what made the Axminster bundle so so attractive? Are they a good brand? I never heard of them TBH.

    Keep on nailing,

    Laszlo

    • John says:

      Hi Laszlo,

      I’ve always been very impressed with Axminster’s own brands (and indeed everything they stock).

      I wouldn’t say they’re the best tools in the world, but for the price I don’t think I’d ever find better and I’m confident that if they ever go wrong I’ll be looked after.

      Keep on double entendre-ing 🙂

      John

Leave a Reply

