Got wood?

… well I will soon! 🙂

I’ve ordered a couple of 4’x8′ sheets of 19mm oak veneered MDF, a roll of 22mm oak veneer and a length of 6″x1″ oak from Wenban Smith and I’ll hopefully be taking delivery later this week.

This means that I will be able to make a start on the following projects:

I’m still thinking about how I’ll join the MDF in the various projects – current thinking is a combination of housing joints for the T shaped joints and either dowels or biscuits (I don’t have a biscuit jointer but I could use my router with a suitable cutter) for the L shaped ones.

This entry was posted in Living room storage, Projects, Purchases, Toy box, TV stand, Wood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Got wood?

  1. Alan says:

    Hi there,

    First off a great blog you have going, I’ve spent time reading most of it this evening and can relate to the fact that woodworking is a good “de-stressor” away from the hurly-burly of everyday life.

    In reference to your post can I ask what is your experience of Wenban, in particular:

    1. Are they happy to deal with the casual woodworker as well as those in the trade
    2. Do they try to impose a minimum spend on an order
    3. Do they only operate in a certain area of the country

    Apologies for the bombardment of questions there – I did have a look on their website but couldn’t find what I was looking for. The problem I’m having is that I really want to start some home furniture projects next year but some of the websites I was given to buy hardwood & veneered sheet materials either didn’t want to know because I wasn’t a trader or they had a ridiculous minimum spend which I couldn’t justify. The last company I dealt with wanted over £120 for a 8ft piece of 25mm rough sawn oak which I thought was well over the odds of reasonable, and there isn’t really anyone where I am (Hampshire) apart from the likes of the usual DIY stores, Travis Perkins, Jewsons etc. which are also a bit “funny” when you turn up there to collect pre-ordered goods.

    Many thanks

    Alan

    • John says:

      Hi Alan,

      1/ Yes they seem happy to deal with anyone
      2/ I’ve never encountered a minimum spend and have sometimes only bought £20 worth of offcuts
      3/ They’re Sussex based with branches in Worthing, Lewes and Horsham (there’s a “Locations” link on their site)

      I’m sure I had a bookmark of someone’s list of decent/interesting timber suppliers by county but I can’t seem to lay my hand on it at the moment.

      If I find it I’ll follow up to this comment.

      John

Leave a Reply

