Decluttering

There are a couple of things I’ve been meaning to do for a while, but for one reason or another haven’t got round to:

Clearing space

Today I stopped procrastinating and listed the freezer, gas hob and cooker hood on eBay (this has been on my to-do list since I started this blog).

The freezer has already sold (in fact the buyer just collected it) and the other items have a bit of interest already, so I’m hopeful the garage will be rid of a few more obstructions soon.

I also have £30 to put towards my next tool purchase 🙂

Timber storage

I’ve been meaning to organise my timber storage a bit better.

At the moment my timber is mostly just a collection of offcuts from Wenban Smith and they were stacked on top of each other on the shelves that were already in the garage when we bought the house.

I know it’s not a good idea to store timber like this, so today I finally got round to making some stickers to insert between the layers to improve air circulation.

Cutting PAR 1" x 1" pine for stickers

I’ve used some PAR 1″ x 1″ that I’ve had for ages (I bought a large multipack about 10 years ago to use for bracing the corners of a model railway baseboard I built and had lots left over).

The timber now looks a bit neater and hopefully won’t warp too much now it’s stored correctly

Timber storage with layers separated by stickers

At some point once the garage is a bit emptier and I’ve figured out the optimum layout I’ll build something bigger and stronger.

This entry was posted in Setting up shop, Wood, Workshop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Decluttering

  1. Pingback: Further reshuffling | Aggravated Wood Butchery

Leave a Reply

