Review – Tormek T7 – First impressions

I’m not actually sure whether a bench grinder even counts as machinery – let alone woodworking machinery – or a power tool, but never mind.

After some deliberation I ordered a Tormek T7 with a lot of bells and whistles from D&M Tools on Monday night after they closed.

I paid an extra Β£5 to ensure the order would be processed and despatched on Tuesday for delivery on Wednesday.

This brought the bill to an eyewatering Β£814.90!

By 9:45 on Tuesday I’d already received notification that the order was processed and the grinder was already on its way via TNT and it duly arrived on Wednesday morning.

I was told about D&M by a colleague who highly recommended them. Based on this experience I’ll definitely use them again.

The full list of what I ordered was:

I did consider not bothering with the hand tool accessory kit, but I think sharpening knives, scissors etc will come in handy when trying to justify spending over Β£800 on a grinder to my wife! πŸ˜‰

I didn’t have time to unpack it until the weekend and when I did I found the people at Tormek have a good sense of humour:

Yellow case in Tormek box

This little yellow case contains plasters:

Plasters from yellow case in Tormek box

πŸ™‚

The largest box contains two polystyrene trays holding accessories:

Under these is the grinder and wheels, together with the water tray:

The grinder comes with the honing wheel tucked inside it and a plastic spacer on the shaft:

Grinder out of packaging with honing wheel tucked under

which needs to be removed:

in order to accept the stone (seen here in its packaging):

Before fitting the stone I recommend taking a note of the serial number, which is on a circular sticker tucked inside the grinder near the power switch.

If you register your Tormek in the first six months of ownership they extend the standard 7 year warranty to a whopping 10 years.

I found it a little fiddly to fit the stone and the water trough, but managed it at the second attempt:

The thumbscrew has a reverse thread, presumably to avoid the movement of the wheel loosening it and allowing the wheel to fly off πŸ™‚

The instructions tell you to tighten the thumbscrew up finger tight and it will automatically be tightened to the correct torque the first time you start the grinder.

As well as the water trough there’s an extension that catches drips from long blades etc:

The SVH-320 planer blade jig:

The HTK-705 hand tool kit:

The TNT-708 woodturners kit:

Under the instructions (and obligatory plasters) is the turning tool setter:

Also included in the woodturners kit is the cover:

This thing just oozes quality and I’m now confident that I’ve made an investment that will last me a lifetime.

Having bought almost all the available accessories up front I think the only accessories I may end up adding are the DBS-22 drill bit sharpening attachment and maybe the RB-180 rotating base but I think I’ll wait a while until the pain in my wallet subsides a bit πŸ˜‰

I hope to find time later today after the Hungarian Grand Prix to watch one of the included DVDs and maybe even christen the T7 on my lawnmower blades.

Things I like:

  • The obvious quality of every component
  • Good & extremely detailed instruction manuals
  • Instructional DVDs included with T7 and TNT-708
  • The 10 year warranty (7 years, extended by an extra 3 if you register)
  • The sense of humour (plasters included) πŸ™‚

Things I don’t like:

  • The price!

Update 11/08/2012: I have finally christened the Tormek

Update 16/08/2012: I have now purchased the rotating base

This entry was posted in Machinery, Purchases, Reviews, Sharpening, Tools and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Review – Tormek T7 – First impressions

  1. Pingback: Blog stats – 2012 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  2. Pingback: Bench drill base – Part 1 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  3. Pingback: Sharpening update | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  4. Pingback: “Final” machinery ordered | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  5. Pingback: Rebuilding planes – Part 2 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  6. Pingback: Swivel! | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  7. Pingback: Christening the Tormek | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  8. Interesting read. I hope you’re going to make another post in two or three months on how it’s working out and performing. Yes it’s expensive but supposed to be very good. I went for the much cheaper Sheppach 2500 which is definitely a direct ‘copy’ of this system, as in fact many of the accessories are directly compatible. I’m going to write my review of the Sheppach after using it for about four months next week (all being well).

    • John says:

      I certainly plan to.

      Earlier when I was tidying the shed I found an axe and some shears left by the previous owner, so I have a few things to play with while I get used to it πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Thoughts on workshop layout | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  10. Pingback: Poll – Bandsaw choices | Aggravated Wood Butchery

Leave a Reply

