Saw seeing

Saws for sale outside in the rain

The other day when I was in the bric-a-brac shop I noticed some old hand saws in the outdoor section. There were a couple of Disstons and a Spear & Jackson.

Disston USA

Disston Canada

Spear & Jackson logo on hand saw

Spear & Jackson

Today when I went back they were still outside and it was raining, so being rather a soft touch I decided to give them a home (there were also 2 others, one unmarked and the other “Made in Germany” with a nice looking handle, along with a small tenon saw inside, but I left them … for now).

Update 26/08/2012: I went back today for a look at the tenon saw but the handle is loose and there is no obvious way for it to be tightened (there are no screw heads either side of the handle). I’ve been regretting not getting the German saw, so I bought that and will post about it separately

So far I’ve only given them a quick spray with some WD40 and a wipe down to get some of the grease off. I’ve propped them up in the workshop and hopefully they’ll dry out slowly after their exposure to the elements …

3 second hand saws drying

This wipe down has exposed the fact that the Disston USA saw has a Disston logo on the blade, but the other two have no markings visible on the blades, only the logos on the handles.

Markings on blade of Diston USA handsaw

Disston blade

I’ve not looked them up in the Disstonian Institute yet …

I also decided to buy the Stanley Bailey No.4. It was priced high enough to put me off last time, but knowing now that the No. 4 1/2 was perhaps a little under priced I feel I’ve probably paid a fair price overall.

Stanley Bailey No. 4

The tote is a little loose and the varnish is pretty cracked, but I think it’s salvageable:

Stanley Bailey No. 4 tote with cracked varnish

Like the No. 4 1/2 the lever cap also has a kidney shaped hole:

Stanley Bailey No. 4 lever cap

The varnish on the front handle/knob is also very cracked:

Stanley Bailey No. 4 front knob

The sole looks fairly good and seems square by eye:

Stanley Bailey No. 4 sole

The Acorn No. 4 is slightly smaller and lighter than the Stanley Bailey, with the No. 4 1/2 dwarfing them both:

3 planes

I’m hoping I get a chance to de-grease and de-rust all my acquisitions tomorrow …

This entry was posted in Bric-a-brac, Hand tools, Purchases, Restoration, Tools, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saw seeing

  1. Pingback: Saw doctoring – Part 1 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  2. Pingback: Stanley hand drill | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  3. Pingback: The Sussex home for abandoned tools | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  4. Pingback: De-rusting planes | Aggravated Wood Butchery

Leave a Reply

