Car booty – 2nd September 2012

This weekend we’ve been visiting friends in Dorset and this morning we went to a large boot fair.

The weather wasn’t great and a lot of the stalls were packing up by the time we got there, but I picked up a few bits and bobs:

Booty from car boot sale 2/9/2012

The list was:

  • F-cramp with Dutch? barcode sticker
F-cramp handle with original barcode

F-cramp handle with original barcode

F-cramp stamp

F-cramp stamp

  • Stanley stubby Philips head screwdriver
Stubby Philips head screwdriver

Stubby Philips head screwdriver

  • Stubby flat head screwdriver
Stubby flat head screwdriver

Stubby flat head screwdriver

I’m not sure of the individual prices here but I got the above 3 items for £2.50

  • L.S. Starrett No. 230 micrometer with part of a box which may not be its own – £2
L.S Starrett No. 230 micrometer

L.S Starrett No. 230 micrometer

L.S. Starrett No. 230 micrometer

The box is very badly damaged, with the ply delaminated and one end and the lid missing.

Brown and Sharpe micrometer box

Broken Brown and Sharpe micrometer box

Stanley Bailey No. 5 1/2 plane

Stanley Bailey No. 5 1/2

This plane is very rusty, but I think it’s still the find of the day, even though I don’t yet know whether I’ll be able to save it

Stanley Bailey No. 5 1/2 plane

Stanley Bailey No. 5 1/2

The tote handle and knob are both plastic and the tote is broken

Stanley Bailey No. 5 1/2

Stanley Bailey No. 5 1/2 broken handle

The lever cap is pretty rusty but my experience with the No. 4 and No 4 1/2 gives me hope

Stanley Bailey No. 5 1/2 cap iron

Stanley Bailey No. 5 1/2 cap iron

I’ve not been able to separate the blade and chip breaker yet.

They’re not rusted together but the screw is seized

Stanley Bailey No. 5 1/2 blade and chip breaker

Stanley Bailey No. 5 1/2 blade and chip breaker

The one that got away

I saw a fairly nice looking Record vice on the floor next to a stall.

There were a couple of rather rough looking bits on the casting and I wasn’t confident I would be able to spot any problems in a field in the rain, so I pushed on round the rest of the sale.

I went back later and couldn’t find it – I think the stallholder had probably packed up and gone home. I’m really regretting not even finding out the price.

  • Admission: £1 (per car)
  • Total tool spend: £6.50
  • Total other spend: £0
  • Grand total: £7.50
This entry was posted in Car booty, Hand tools, Purchases, Restoration, Tools and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Car booty – 2nd September 2012

  1. Pingback: Aggravated plastic butchery | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  2. Thinking about it, a no.5½ is one that I do not have in my arsenal! It’s something that David Charlesworth highly recommends in his books and, I do sometimes find that my no.5 is a a little narrow for some edge-jointing operations.

    …I haven’t been on eBay in a while! ;-D

    • John says:

      Hi Olly,

      I fear planes have triggered the collectors urge in me!

      I’m not planning to try and get a set of mint in box ones, but I can see the attraction of working through Patrick’s blood and gore page and getting one of each 😉

      John

  3. Pingback: De-rusting planes – Part 2 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

Leave a Reply

