Bandsaw delivery

Yesterday I took delivery of my latest toy, a Charnwood W730 bandsaw from Homewood Ltd in Worthing.

Mobile base

I was given the dimensions of the base of the saw in advance, so I was able to prepare one of the two mobile bases I got from Rutlands in one of their many sales.

(I got two because I was thinking I might one day get a larger planer-thicknesser).

Dakota mobile base from Rutlands

The “instructions” (think A5 sheet with small exploded diagram and parts list) are pretty useless but I was able to figure out how it went together from the various close up photos on the Rutlands website.

The two feet which take the load once the base is lowered off the castors ready for use were very difficult to screw into their lugs on the corner sections, but I was able to use mole grips to force the issue and by gripping the rubber washers above the feet avoided damaging the threads.

A couple of the bolts had to go in at an angle due to welds skewing the heads, but otherwise it seems fairly well made and sturdy.

I can’t work out whether it’s the floor or the base, but only one of the lifting castors seems to actually lift the saw – it’s almost like the other one is mounted too high.

As I have two bases I might try using the castor from the second base to see if that gives a better lift.

I’ve not yet fixed the saw to the base but I may do in future.

Bandsaw

The bandsaw arrived in a trailer having been assembled by Homewood.

I was glad to see it wasn’t quite as big as I’d feared when I was trying to reconcile the dimensions in the spec with my tape measure in the workshop before ordering.

Charnwood W730 bandsaw in alcove

I’m also glad to report that my fears about the table proved unfounded. The casting is a little rough in places but it’s nowhere near as thin as it looks in some of the photos.

I get the impression that the mitre gauge slots are nonstandard as they are a small t-slot and the gauge seems to be only a fraction too big to fit the smaller of my two packs of t-track.

Charnwood W730 mitre gauge slot detail

I may be being dim though as I’ve not had much sleep this week 😦

The wheels have little weights attached to balance them:

Charnwood W730 upper wheel with balancing weights

As I was working from home yesterday I didn’t have much time to play – I just gave the table a quick wax to hopefully protect it.

I’ve pretty much exhausted all the funds I had available for the workshop this month, so I’ve also not yet ordered any blades from Tuff Saws. I’ll be calling them next month though 🙂

Workshop layout

The workshop is pretty cluttered at the moment, with both folding workbenches up, bits of planes spread on most surfaces and the derusting fluid in my toolbox on the floor!

I’ve spent today reshuffling everything as best I can and there’s now a bit of floor space again:

Floor space post reshuffle

The saw fits in the “alcove” between the wall cupboards now I’ve removed the wooden shelving unit from the space:

Charnwood W730 in alcove

It can be stowed against the wall or rotated out 90 degrees to give more room for in/out-feed.

Should I ever need to rip longer stock it can be fed  through the open garage door.

I’ve now fitted some shelves in the upper part of the alcove, positioned to avoid fouling the various levers and knobs when the saw is rolled back against the wall

Workshop with Charnwood W730 bandsaw against wall in alcove

Now it’s here I can start thinking about the height and placement of the surrounding machinery and benches to ensure the best use of space.

For now I’ve had a bit of a reshuffle and both folding workbenches are now positioned next to each other:

Both folding workbenches with Tormek T7 and AWBRD550

The large sheets of veneered MDF are now stored across the garage and nicely hide the clutter by the door:

Veneered MDF stored across the garage

Update 17/03/2013: I’ve now had a play with the W730 and have posted part 1 and part 2 of my experiences.

Update 26/03/2013: The W730 is reviewed in issue 265 of Good Woodworking, available as a back issue here

This entry was posted in Machinery, Purchases, Reviews, Setting up shop, Tools, Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bandsaw delivery

  1. Pingback: Tuning the Charnwood W730 – Part 1 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  2. Pingback: Poll – Bandsaw choices | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  3. Pingback: Blog stats – 2012 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  4. anaminal says:

    apologies for that comment – just read it back and realised it made no sense – meant to ask “can you please post a review of your bandsaw?”.

    Thanks,
    Chris

    • John says:

      Hi Chris,

      I must confess I’ve barely touched the saw since I got it 😦

      I’d be happy to answer questions or add more photos if you’re interested in seeing something the brochure or my photos don’t cover.

      I must say I was expecting it to look and feel a lot cheaper than it does and I’ve found nothing so far that makes me regret buying it, but I’m certainly not in a position to review it yet due to the almost complete lack of usage.

      JohnP

  5. anaminal says:

    any review of this? I’m looking for a band exactly the same size as this were please with the saw? any info / regrets???

    Chris

  6. Pingback: Bench drill base – Part 1 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  7. Pingback: Bench reconstruction – Part 3 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

Leave a Reply

