Free vice

Today I was out watching the London to Brighton veteran car run when I received a call which reinforced my belief that I’m quite lucky in the mother-in-law department!

It went something like this:

MiL: “Do you have one of those bench clamp things?”
Me: “A vice? Yes I have a couple”
MiL: “Oh – only there’s one outside a house near me with a notice saying ‘Free – please collect’ on it”
Me: “I’ll be right round”

Having dragged my long suffering older daughter away from the cars (she seems to be quite a petrol head, although she doesn’t like the smell of the really old ones!) I located the vice and realised it was a metal working one (of which I have none) , not a woodworking one (of which I have 2, plus 2 tail vices) and was mounted on a metal shelving unit.

It seemed to open and close freely so I hastened to my mother-in-law’s house, where she lent me her car to collect my new toy and agreed to look after my daughter while I ran it home!

Metalworking vice and metal stand in my garage

I am also very lucky in the wife department – I think her reaction can be classified as resigned with a wry smile when I turned up at home without our daughter and with yet another tool πŸ˜€

(The eagle eyed will notice she’s still not sold the pram though!)

Future bench radial drill stand?

The vice is marked “‘Handy’ Model No. G. 3A”. I’ve not found much from a quick google of those words though.

Handy Model No. G3A metalworking vice

The workshop is now even more cramped …

Even more cramped workshop with new vice and stand

… but I think a bit of rearranging and maybe a storage solution for clamps etc will sort out the worst of it.

This entry was posted in Purchases, Setting up shop, Tools, Workbenches, Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Free vice

  1. Pingback: Car booty – 02/06/2013 | Aggravated Car Booty

  2. Pingback: Free vice | Aggravated Metal Butchery

  3. Pingback: Car booty – 02/06/2013 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  4. Pingback: Adventures in derusting | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  5. Pingback: Bench drill base – Part 3 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  6. Pingback: Bench drill base – Part 1 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  7. John,

    So is that the trick – to tell the wife that it was her mother’s idea?

    Chris

    • John says:

      Hi Chris,

      I think the trick is to have a very understanding wife!

      To be fair, I don’t think her reaction would have been much different even if I hadn’t had a great excuse/scapegoat πŸ™‚

      John

  8. Free tools? Always worth having… Lucky You!

Leave a Reply

