Christmas presents

I opened the last of my presents yesterday, so I thought I’d do a round up of the wood related ones, which were exceptionally well chosen … by me!

Veritas

The first present was from my wife and consisted of a selection of mostly Veritas kit from Axminster I’d ordered along with some clamps back in November:
Veritas scrapers & burnisher

She’d been struggling for inspiration and I’d just spent more money than I should on Axminster.co.uk so that worked out rather nicely πŸ™‚

Books

The second present was cash from my mother, who was also struggling for inspiration! I spent it on two books:

I’ve had these books in my Amazon basket for a while, as they’re good about price changes and always tells you when an item in your basket goes up or down in price.

I often leave items in there for several months before buying either when the price drops or I’m feeling flush πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Books, Hand tools, Personal, Purchases, Reading, Tools and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas presents

  1. billlattpa says:

    I don’t use scrapers in my work. I have just one, and I like it, but I have never learned to properly sharpen one. I’m hoping to take another woodworking class in the spring so I may see if I can get the teacher to help me out. Of course I could use the trial and error method but that would mean that I run the risk of screwing up some brand new scrapers. Money is tight at the moment so I definitely don’t want to purchase a new tool that I may end up ruining. I think my next new tool purchase will be a spokeshave from Veritas. I have an old Stanley that was given to me that I managed to get working rather well. But it’s been sharpened so many times that I can’t seem to get the iron to hold an edge anymore, it’s at the end of it’s time. Rather than find a new iron for it and tinkering some more I’m just going to get a nice new one with wooden handles which I’m sure is much more comfortable as well. I use arches a lot in my furniture and the spokeshave is pretty important to me.

    • John says:

      Hi Bill,

      I’ve not used scrapers for a LONG time and have never sharpened them, so I am a bit nervous about that.

      Mercifully I don’t have any pressing need for them at the moment, so I can put off the evil moment … πŸ™‚

      I’ve been very impressed with the build quality of Q[iu]angsheng planes and they seem to do a few spokeshaves for a fair bit less than Axminster’s price for the Veritas ones, so they may also be worth a look.

      http://www.workshopheaven.com/tools/Quangsheng_Flat_Bottomed_Spokeshave_Bronze.html

      John

      • billlattpa says:

        I’ve seen that a few companies offer a scraper jig used to sharpen and burnish them. I’m thinking about giving one a try. The only time I ever used a scraper was at a woodworking class and I was very impressed with the results.

Leave a Reply

