Stanley hand drill

I was wandering through town earlier when I saw an old Stanley hand drill with chest/breast brace in a bric-a-brac shop (not the one I got the planes, saws and other bits and bobs from).

Stanley hand drill

It was only £3 and seemed in pretty good shape, so I thought I’d give it a good home and maybe even use it.

After a bit of googling and a closer look at the mechanism I’ve realised this is a two speed drill, probably a Stanley 905:

Two speed mechanism

The large cog and crank handle assembly can be removed and placed in the other hole to give a slower speed.

The only marking I’ve found on it apart from the “Stanley” and “England” is an alphanumeric string which looks something like “C0526 Q205”

Alphanumeric string

If anyone can tell me what those letters and numbers mean I’d really appreciate it.

This entry was posted in Bric-a-brac, Hand tools, Purchases, Tools and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stanley hand drill

  1. Pingback: Car booty – 01/04/2013 | Aggravated Car Booty

  2. Pingback: Further adventures in derusting | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  3. Pingback: Car booty – 01/04/2013 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  4. I’ve no idea what the numbers mean but, if that is a two-speed drill then I imagine it’s quite a rare find, as I’ve not seen anything like it before.

    • John says:

      Hi Olly,

      I think it’s probably a 905 and they seem relatively common on eBay (often described as rare!), but until I clean up the crank I won’t be sure (that’s where they seem to be marked with a model number usually)

      I guess the alphanumeric string may give an indication of production date (one of the several I found when googling was simply marked “45”, which was then described as being built in 1945).

      John

  5. Pingback: A bit more space | Aggravated Wood Butchery

Leave a Reply

