Levelling the SIP 01552 – Part 3

It’s been a while since I last updated on this subject

Since then I’ve played about with my dial gauge …

Dial gauge on planer table

… and my Dad has sent several prototypes of the flanged mounting washer thingy and we’d very nearly got as far as being able to mount the planer table using them …

Various incarnations of the flange

… however this morning I had another play with the planer tables of my planer-thicknesser using my new Veritas aluminium straight edge and my feeler gauges.

I’ve discovered that although the infeed table has consistently been lower on the fence side, it is possible to make it lower on the other side, so the problem may not be inaccurately cut slots or a warped table as I had been fearing.

I think the key is in the mechanism used to raise and lower the table:

SIP 01552 - underside of infeed table

The knob turns a threaded rod which meets a threaded center hole in another rod which is mounted to both sides of the chassis of the planer-thicknesser.

Infeed table bolts

The table is mounted by 4 bolts to some square flanged washers which ride in sloped slots, meaning the closer the table is to the blades, the higher it is (and the shallower the depth of cut is).

There’s nothing in the mechanism to ensure both sides advance at the same rate, so when I cranked the infeed table down to the maximum depth of cut, then back up again, pulling back gently on the corner opposite the fence this left the infeed table slightly higher at this side than the fence.

There was also a much smaller difference to the difference between the two sides, which had previously been as much as 0.8mm.

With a bit of fiddling I was able to get both sides to the point where only my 0.4mm feeler gauge would fit between them and the straight edge

Straight edge on planer table

Fence side

Straight edge on planer table

Other side

The fact that I can change the height of each side of the table during adjustment means it may also be affected by any knocks or pressure during planing, but I think I’ll put the ideas on changing the mountings on hold.

As before I will continue to set the fence square to the outfeed table, as this is well aligned with the cutter block and, being fixed, has less chance of getting knocked out of alignment.

I’ll try to remember to check regularly with the straight edge, but as long as I hold any wood against the fence when I square the second face to the first cut, it won’t matter much (and as the thicknesser table is very well aligned with the cutter block, the other two faces will be parallel).

This entry was posted in Machinery, Tools and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Levelling the SIP 01552 – Part 3

  1. Mike says:

    Hello John, just thought it apt to thank you again for the reviews and info on the 01552, i received delivery of my one just a few days ago and had the chance to have a play over the weekend. I am very impressed with it, initially i was concerned as the results were far from expectations but on inspection the blades were slightly lower than the outfeed table, few simple adjustments and now perfectly lined up and it works a dream.

    I have also been surprised by the dust extractor, having seen a few negatives about it i was not expecting much but i certainly found it to be pretty damn effective and had a nice 1/2 bag to empty.

  2. Mike says:

    Hey, big thanks for your blog you seem to be on a similar path to my own intrepid journey in to woodworking and I am accumulating tools (admittedly not quite at the rate you are managing πŸ™‚ ) . My next big purchase is a thicknesser\planer which a search for SIP 01552 reviews lead me to here πŸ™‚ Having read all your levelling posts a little cog turned in my grey matter from reading a similiar issue elsewhere……after some intensive googling it seems it was for the Woodstar PT 85…..however pretty much the same model just a different brand.

    You might find the info the lad in the following link (check the videos) is also applicable to the SIP 01552. This had the same issue of the infeed table being slightly out of alignment…the reason is as you adjust the height it lowers the rear (fence side) but the front does not adjust exactly the same as the rear…..the solution was a thump to the side of the infeed table to bring it level (i believe they call this gentle persuassion)

    http://www.idostuff.co.uk/sections/DIY/Woodstar%20Planer%20Thicknesser%20Review.html

    Thanks again for your blog and i shall be checking in for future updates πŸ™‚

    Good luck in future projects πŸ˜€

    Your fellow aspiring woodworker
    Mike

    • John says:

      Thanks Mike,

      I did read that review when I was researching, but I’d forgotten (or failed to grasp the significance of) the bit about “adjusting” the table with a hammer πŸ™‚

      John

  3. Pingback: Projects – Tool Storage – Part 2 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  4. > I’ve discovered that although the infeed table has consistently been lower on the fence side, it is possible to make it lower on the other side, so the problem may not be inaccurately cut slots or a warped table.

    Now he tells me!
    Dad

Leave a Reply

