Projects – Tool storage – Part 3

I’m currently on baby (and F1! 🙂 ) watching duty, but I’ve been thinking about how to progress this project after preparing some stock yesterday.

Stack of slats

My set of Irwin Marples chisels has 8 chisels ranging from 1/4” to 2″.

Irwin Marples Chisels

I’ve played about laying them out on one of the pieces I prepared and although I’ve considered a double row with 3 large ones in the back and 5 smaller ones in the front, I think a single row is best.

Irwin Marples Chisels

I’ve noticed that some of the smaller ones are quite handle heavy, so I’ll have to experiment and find out whether holes in the top of the rack will be enough to keep them upright, or whether I’ll need to tightly enclose the blades.

Although I could knock something up at this point, I really like the dovetailed design I mentioned in part 1 so I think I’ll put this project on hold until I have a router table, as this will make the dovetails a lot easier.

This entry was posted in Hand tools, Projects, Setting up shop, Tool storage, Tools, Workshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

