Projects – Tool Storage – Part 2

After finally getting the hang of levelling the planer tables of my planer thicknesser I decided to prepare some wood for the chisel rack I’ve been thinking about for a while.

I decided to break up some of the slatted wooden shelves from the smaller of the two shelving units that used to hold various tools:

Wooden slatted shelves

I found the simplest way to split the nailed and glued cross pieces from the shelf slats was to support the cross piece on a couple of bits of 2″ x 1″ and tap the slats with a mallet:

Knocking shelving apart

I de-nailed the cross pieces, mostly to avoid possible injuries, as they’re too small and mostly too badly damaged for re-use:

Denailing shelves

I knocked off the worst of the glue and broken cross piece from the slats with a chisel (an old Do It All one, not one of the nicer ones I plan to house in this rack!):

Cleaning up slats

I broke one of my oldest clamps in the process – the partner of the one I fixed last year. I think this one may be terminal, as it’s broken across the trigger 😦

Once they were cleaned up a bit I fed the slats through the planer:

SIP 01552 - planer mode

And then the thicknesser:

SIP 01552 - thicknesser mode

I now have a nice pile of slats ready for this project (and probably others as well)

Stack of slats

Hopefully I’ll get a chance to get a bit further tomorrow …

This entry was posted in Dust extraction, Machinery, Projects, Tool storage, Wood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Projects – Tool Storage – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Car booty – 21/04/2013 | Aggravated Car Booty

  2. Pingback: More open clamp surgery | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  3. Pingback: Car booty – 21/04/2013 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

  4. Pingback: Projects – Tool storage – Part 3 | Aggravated Wood Butchery

Leave a comment